. ([info]vulgarcriminal) wrote in [info]womenintech,
  • Mood: restless

Pcpartsandmore.co.uk (warning)

Receptionist was sucked into the world of gaming via the heady lure of a Wii. She went searching Google for a shop selling them online and came across pcpartsandmore.co.uk a company supposedly based out of Blackpool.

Good prices, good delivery right? Everything looks ok, at a glance. Then you look a little closer and something begins to smell bad.

Luckily they had their doubts early and didn't actually place an order. I'm really glad they didn't, considering what I found after checking them out.

1. Web page pretty much ripped off from Dabs.com. Including a link to their mailing list. (Copyscape it)

2. Not ISIS accredited

3. Domain registered to an individual via a German registrar. An individual located in Scotland while the store is in Blackpool?

Domain name:
pcpartsandmore.co.uk

Registrant:
Lynne McGinn

Registrant type:
UK Individual

Registrant's address:
19 Glendevon Court
Broxburn
EH52 6UU
United Kingdom

Registrant's agent:
Schlund + Partner AG [Tag = SCHLUND]
URL: http://registrar.schlund.info

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 23-Feb-2007
Renewal date: 23-Feb-2009

Registration status:
Registration request being processed.

Name servers:
ns59.1and1.co.uk
ns60.1and1.co.uk

WHOIS lookup made at 15:43:06 06-Mar-2007

4. There are about a million companies registered to their address

5. Frankly, it's not a very professional job. What, for example, is an ' Applie ipods?!'

6. 6. Their SSL house is in order (Verisign checks out.)
Thawte has no record of them.

Verisign has no record of them.


On the other hand, this does look like a business



(These
>Wii bargain hunters
are similarly concerned.)


No concrete evidence that these guys are dodgy as far as taking credit card info and shipping goes but I'd be leery. It looks like some seriously sketchy stuff.

(x-posted to tll, my blog, [info]girl_gamers and [info]womenintech)

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 14 comments

[info]psharrock

March 6 2007, 17:30:40 UTC 5 years ago

re: pcpartsandmore.co.uk

Hi, I would be very careful of this company, dabs have been looking into this site, as its just a scrape of the current dabs site

The website claims to be PC PARTS LTD trading from Blackpool, and this is a address of a legitimate accountantancy firm acting as a company secretary for PC PARTS LTD, so far so good.

However, the directors of PC PARTS LTD are not aware of this website, the registrant of the website, is not aware she has registered the domain name.

The police are currently involved in getting this website shutdown, and trying to locate the actual people behind the site.

Paul Sharrock
dabs.com

[info]bibliogirl

March 6 2007, 18:28:17 UTC 5 years ago

Paul, could you drop me an email (bibliogirl at livejournal dot com will reach me) -- I would like to pass you on some information and your LJ address isn't active.

[info]vulgarcriminal

March 6 2007, 18:48:38 UTC 5 years ago

Hi Paul

Thank you! I'll pass on the info.

[info]vulgarcriminal

March 6 2007, 18:52:04 UTC 5 years ago

One other thing, the IP of the server is hosted in Germany. A ping to the domain resolves to 82.165.54.31 and turns up these guys:

http://www.ripe.net/fcgi-bin/whois?form_type=simple&full_query_string=&searchtext=82.165.54.31+&submit.x=16&submit.y=7&submit=Search

[info]weatherpixie

March 6 2007, 17:53:52 UTC 5 years ago

I'd be tempted to place an order with a made up name/address/credit card details to check and see if they do CC validation, or if its just there to harvest info.

[info]vulgarcriminal

March 6 2007, 20:53:08 UTC 5 years ago

Just did it, made up cc number, birthdate, address and phone number.

It went through. They're definitely harvesting.

[info]weatherpixie

March 6 2007, 21:30:07 UTC 5 years ago

http://www.banksafeonline.org.uk/report_scam.html

You could try reporting them here.

I think the site is hosted at http://www.oneandone.net/
You could try expressing your concerns to them too.

[info]vulgarcriminal

March 6 2007, 21:46:13 UTC 5 years ago

Done :). Tried to contact the police as well (was hoping there was strength in numbers) and got NOWHERE.

Oh well :(

E-mailed the Register too. I have this feeling in the back of my mind that these guys have done it before. If the proprietors aren't lying through their teeth, it's possible they were scammed by the very same.

They get more creative every year.

[info]weatherpixie

March 7 2007, 15:37:55 UTC 5 years ago

That might have done the trick, the website seems down ATM.

Anonymous

March 7 2007, 17:27:29 UTC 5 years ago

pcpartsandmore

I ordered a wii from pcpartsandmore last week - got an email saying that my order had been declined due to further checks (above the usual bank credit card checking) - I (maybe stupidly) then used another credit card. About 2 mins ago i got an email asking for further verification by the means of scanning and emailing a passport / 2 utility bills and a driving license. I may have been stupid enough to enter my card details (account not been debited as yet though) - But i sure as hell am not going to scan that sort of info to the. i have replied by saying that i am not willing to pass this info on. so see what they say = Oh, and the website is currently down??? eh oh!!!

[info]gregoh

March 7 2007, 17:39:31 UTC 5 years ago

pcpartsandmore

I ordered a wii from pcpartsandmore last week - got an email saying that my order had been declined due to further checks (above the usual bank credit card checking) - I (maybe stupidly) then used another credit card. About 2 mins ago i got an email asking for further verification by the means of scanning and emailing a passport / 2 utility bills and a driving license. I may have been stupid enough to enter my card details (account not been debited as yet though) - But i sure as hell am not going to scan that sort of info to the. i have replied by saying that i am not willing to pass this info on. so see what they say = Oh, and the website is currently down??? eh oh!!!
I have cancelled my credit card now, and will prob do the same with my debit card

Anonymous

March 8 2007, 16:07:51 UTC 5 years ago

Domain registrar

Hi, The domain has been registered through 1&1 - any domain registered by them is done so by Schlund + Partner AG. Not sure of the relationship.

Anonymous

March 9 2007, 08:32:00 UTC 5 years ago

pcpartsandmore.co.uk

Hi all, my wife ordered a wii from this site 04/03/07 after being lured in by their site, they emailed us back on the wednesday to decline the sale pending checks, as said by others on here. I have now received a further email today from them to say the site is being restocked and my details will be used later on for the purchase. We have already cancelled the credit card so that wont happen. All be warned ! ! Anyone out there got any other suggestion what we should do ? call police etc stu.matt@hotmail.co.uk

[info]ditzybird78

March 12 2007, 12:37:28 UTC 5 years ago

I TOO ORDERED FROM, "PCPARTS..." AND I TOO HAVE NOW HAD TO CANCEL MY CERDIT CARD! I ALSO RECEIVED SIMILAR EMAILS TO THE ONES ALREADY COMMENTED ON AND IT WAS ACTUALLY THE AWFUL SPELLING THAT CONFIRMED MY SUSPICIONS!! IT JUST GOES TO SHOW, IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, IT PROBABLY IS!
Create an Account
Forgot your login or password?
Facebook Twitter More login options
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…